2009 Gregory Awards

Honors in seven categories were presented at a gala event at the Intiman Theatre, on October 19th, 2009, at 7:30pm.  What an outstanding night for local theatre!  Having so many artists in one location was pretty inspiring, and Nick Garrison and the Love Markets were fantastic hosts.  Everyone looked beautiful; the speeches were powerful, and the food (catering by The Dreaming Dane) was delicious.

How Were Nominees and Recipients Chosen?

The process balances input from critics and theatre professionals alike in determining the results.

Nomination Process

During the month of August 2009, nominations from shows in the 2008-2009 season were submitted by a panel of eighteen theatre critics representing print and online media from across Western Washington.  The nominations included 46 actors, 42 actresses, 35 directors, 46 persons to watch,  44 productions and 26 theatre companies. For the 2009 Gregory Awards, the nominating panel consisted of:

Jeremy Barker Miryam Gordon Michael Moore
Gavin Borchert Milt Hamlin Andrew J. Perez
Steve Clare Rosemary Jones Kevin Phinney
Alec Clayton Kenna Kettrick Gianni Truzzi
Steve Dunkelberger Jerry Kraft Steve Wiecking
Margaret Friedman Thomas May Nancy Worssam

Voting Process

An independent consultant tallied the nomination submissions and determined the four top contenders in each of the six categories. These constituted the final nominees that appeared on a ballot which was voted on by the approximately 1,500 members of Theatre Puget Sound. Members were given the chance to vote for their choice of the four nominees in each of the six categories. The ballot also provided a blank fifth slot, for each category, in which the voter was given the ability to list a write-in candidate instead.
The candidate with the highest number of write-in votes became known as the
Members’ Voice. The results were announced at the gala on October 19th.

The Categories

  • The 12th Annual Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award
  • Outstanding Actor
  • Outstanding Actress
  • Outstanding Director
  • Outstanding Production
  • Person to Watch
  • Theatre of the Year

Nominees & Recipients